Home > Bike Types > Cyclocross

USA Cycling Finalizes U.S. National Cyclocross Team for World Championships

Support us! Bikerumor may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn More
Ryan Trebon on his way to winning the USGP overall title. Photo from Kona's Joe Sales.

USA Cycling has completed the last round of nominations to the United States National Team for the 2010 UCI Cyclocross World Championships in Tabor, Czech Republic on January 30-31. Five athletes were named to the elite men’s squad, rounding out the 20-rider U.S. contingent.

Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) earned an automatic nomination to the team as the highest ranked American in the UCI cyclocross rankings in 16th-place. With 2009 accolades that include an eighth-place ride in round five of the World Cup in Igorre, Spain, the 2007 world championship silver medalist will lead the five-man team.

Also earning an automatic nomination to the team is Tim Johnson (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com). Fresh off of his win at the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships in Bend last month, Johnson is currently the second-highest American in the UCI rankings in 24th place.

Ryan Trebon (KONA) earned the final automatic nomination to the men’s squad by garnering the most points in five out of the six U.S. qualification races. With his silver medal performance at the national championships and his fourth-place ranking in the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Racing Calendar standings, Trebon should be a strong contender in Tabor.

Discretionary nominations went to Johnson’s two teammates on the powerhouse Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com team – Jeremy Powers and Jamey Driscoll. After topping the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Racing Calendar standings, Powers rode to a strong fifth-place at the national championships last month. Driscoll was third in the national calendar standings and sixth in the national championship race.

The Elite Women’s, U23 men’s, and Junior men’s squads were announced earlier this month.  Full U.S. team rider list after the break…

Elite Men
Jonathan Page (Northfield, N.H./Planet Bike)
Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass/Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com)
Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore./KONA)
Jeremy Powers (Hadley, Mass./Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com)
James Driscoll (Jericho, Vt./Cannondale-cyclocrossworld.com)

Elite Women
Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Planet Bike)
Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Schalmm p/b Primus)
Meredith Miller (Fort Collins, Colo./California Giant-Specialized)
Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa./C3-Sollay)
Maureen Bruno-Roy (Arlington, Mass./MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles)

U23 Men
Danny Summerhill (Englewood, Colo./Garmin-Felt)
Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Stevens Classic Cycle)
Jerome Townsend (Princeton, Mass./Bikereg.com-Joe’s Garage)
Dave Hackworthy (Hudson, Wisc./Plan C)

Junior Men
Cody Kaiser (El Dorado Hills, Calif./Cal Giant)
Jeff Bahnson (Newark, De./Thule-Vandessel)
Skyler Trujillo (Fort Collins, Colo./Black Sheep)
Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan./KCCX-Verge)
Matt Spinks (Layton, N.J./Young Medalists-Team Dual Temp)

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.