Home > Bike Types > Road Bike

2009 Tour Down Under Champ Allan Davis To Defend Title Riding for Astana

Support us! Bikerumor may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn More

tour-down-under-logo-tduReigning Santos Tour Down Under champion Allan Davis will return to Adelaide to defend his title with new team Astana. Davis confirmed Tuesday he has signed a two year contract with Astana and will debut with the team at the Santos Tour Down Under later this month.

“Being the defending champion means pressure in any sport. But as always I am looking forward to the Santos Tour Down Under to kick off my season. Hopefully with a stage win and then we’ll see what happens,” says Davis.

“It was a hard choice to make as Quick Step really looked after me. My main reason for changing is to have more of a leading sprinters roll in the team at the highest level of Pro races through out the year. Also having my brother, Scott, alongside me was a key factor in my decision. “My main role will be the sprinting side of things as well as the one day classics and aiming for stage wins in tours throughout the year.”

Santos Tour Down Under Race Director, Mike Turtur, welcomed the news that Davis would be returning to compete in Adelaide.

“As the reigning champion and the only rider to compete in every edition of the race, it’s great to have Allan competing here again this year,” says Mike Turtur.

“Allan put in an epic performance here last year, winning three stages and the overall GC. Now in his first race for Astana, I’d expect him to make his mark with more blistering rides.”
The Astana team at the Santos Tour Down Under will include 2006 Tour de France winner Oscar Pereiro.

“With Davis and Pereiro, Astana are bringing a team of true quality to Adelaide. I’d expect them to be aiming for stage wins for Davis and perhaps the overall GC,” says Mike Turtur.

The Astana team for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager, Guido Bontempi (ITA) and includes Allan Davis (AUS), Oscar Pereiro (ESP), Valeriy Dmitriyev (KAZ), Andriy Grivko (UKR), Gorazd Stangelj (SLO), Josep Jufre Pou (ESP) and Jesus Hernandez Blazquez (ESP)

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.