Home > Bike Types > Mountain Bike

Fort Williams World Cup DH #4 Recap

Support us! Bikerumor may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn More


Recap provided by SRAM: This past weekend marked the fourth round of gravity racing in the mountain bike World Cup series. If you didn’t get up in the wee morning hours to catch it on Freecaster (Editor’s Note: Never fear, we embedded it above!  If it’s loading slow, just hit pause and come back about 20 minutes later for uninterupted play.), you missed some heated racing! Fort William, Scotland is known for wet weather, huge crowds that never disappoint, and arm-blasting ruble!

The Santa Cruz Syndicate has now won four out of four. Frenzied fans were lucky enough to witness Greg Minnaar of the Santa Cruz Syndicate make short work of the rock filled race course and won with a time of 4:38.98. As Greg crossed the finish he was surrounded by his closest mates and extended South African family. South Africa was alive and well in the Scottish pits that night! Runner up Sam Hill was hungry for a win but fell short by a second and a half. Sam would later say, “Syndicate got their four in a row, now it’s time to get my four”.

Steve Peat (1st place overall) and Greg Minnaar (2nd place overall) currently stand at two wins each with only 150 points separating the top five riders in the overall standings. It’s the closest action seen in years, and racers need to have a good, if not great qualifying run to maintain points in the race for the overall DH title.

Four Cross is a crowd favorite in Fort William. Spectators lined the track and even hung from trees to witness the side-by-side racing action. Jill Kintner displayed her talent with a strong move in the first corner and continuing to battle Fionn and Caroline Buchanan for the win. You have to give it up for Jill this year. Jill wears many hats acting as Team Manager, Mechanic, PR manager and athlete. Congratulations on the win and for moving up into the top position in the overall standing!

Hit ‘more’ for top results and video of the Women’s DH Finals

Mens DH

  1. Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
  2. Samuel Hill (Aus) Monster Energy / Specialized / Mad Catz, SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
  3. Samuel Blenkinsop (NZl) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team
  4. Gee Atherton (GBr) Animal Commencal
  5. Michael Hannah (Aus) GT Bicycles, SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ

Womens 4x

  1. Jill Kintner (USA) Intense, SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
  2. Caroline Buchanan (Aus)
  3. Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team
  4. Melissa Buhl (USA)
  5. Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center SRAM, RockShox, Avid, Truvativ
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.