Home > Bike Types > Road Bike

Team Saxo Bank Joins Tour Down Under

Support us! Bikerumor may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn More

A strong and competitive Team Saxo Bank, led by South Australia’s Stuart O’Grady, will take to the start line at the 2009 Tour Down Under.

Race Director Mike Turtur highlighted that Stuart O’Grady is the only rider in the Tour Down Under’s history to have won the event twice.

“Stuart O’Grady won the inaugural Tour Down Under in 1999 and again in2001,” said Mike Turtur.
“Stuart has had the taste of victory here twice before and I know he will hit the race hard, looking to add a third title to his crown.

“It is always great to see Australian cycling champions competing in a UCI ProTour event on home soil.”
Stuart O’Grady, who had a strong 2008 season after recovering from a series of serious injuries, will be joined by fellow Australian rider Matthew Goss and Gernam Jens Voigt.

“Matthew has had an outstanding start to his cycling career since turning professional in 2006,” said Mike Turtur.

“Germany’s Jens Voigt will also be a powerful support to O’Grady, having taken out a stage win in this year’s Giro d’Italia.

“Voigt has the propensity to attack the race and has an extremely positive attitude to cycling.”
Frank Hoj will make his return to Team Saxo Bank at the 2009 Tour Down Under. He was previously a member of the Danish team in 2004.

Team Saxo Bank riders for the 2009 Tour Down Under includes: Stuart O’Grady (AUS), Jens Voigt (GER), Nicki Sorensen (DEN), Kasper Klostergaard (DEN), Matthew Goss (AUS), Frank Hoj (DEN) and AndersLund (DEN). Kim Andersen (DEN) will be the Team Manager.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.