Home > Bike Types > Road Bike

2010 Tour Down Under – Team Columbia-HTC Announcement

Support us! Bikerumor may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn More

2010-tour-down-under-graphicFROM TOUR DOWN UNDER: Team Columbia-HTC is fielding a strong, experienced and competitive line up for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under, ready to take victory.

Santos Tour Down Under, Race Director, Mike Turtur is pleased that two previous overall Tour Down Under winners in Andre Greipel (2008) and Michael Rogers (2002) will be competing at the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under.

“After Greipel’s mishap at the race this year we are pleased he will be back in South Australia,” said Mike Turtur.

“History shows that our race is a great start to Greipel’s season. In 2008 he took overall victory and this year started with a stage win in the 2009 Tour Down Under, and continued a winning form all season, with four stage wins at the Vuelta and a total of 20 victories.”

Michael Rogers is the current Australian Time Trial Champion and a hot favourite when racing on Aussie ground.

Joining the team in 2010 and making their team debut at the Santos Tour Down Under are Australian Matt Goss (formerly Saxo Bank) and New Zealand track specialist Hayden Roulston (formerly with Cervelo Test Team).

“Hayden will be an asset to the team, being an accomplished track rider having won the silver medal in the men’s 4000m individual pursuit and a bronze medal in the men’s 4000m team pursuit at the 2008 Beijing Olympics,” Turtur said.

The energy and youthfulness of Matthew Goss will add to the Australian contingent already in the team.

“Matthew came first in the Paris-Brussels one day race last month, an event that Robbie McEwen has taken victory in this event five times,” said Turtur.

Team Columbia’s line up for the 2010 Santos Tour Down Under will be led by Team Manager, Alan Peiper (AUS) and includes riders: Andre Greipel (GER), Michael Rogers (AUS), Bernhard Eisel (AUT), Mark Renshaw (AUS), Matthew Goss (AUS), Marcel Sieberg (GER) and Hayden Roulston (NZ).

Team Columbia had a brilliant 2009 season dominating the Grand Tours, winning 16 stages of the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana- twice as many as the next best, Cervelo.
More rider and team announcements will be issued over the coming weeks.

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.