Home > Bike Types > Road Bike

USA Cycling Announces Men’s Elite Cyclocross Team Roster

Support us! Bikerumor may earn a small commission from affiliate links in this article. Learn More

USA Cycling announced today the five athletes that were nominated to represent the United States in the elite men’s category at the 2009 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships on Feb. 1 in Hoogerheide, Netherlands.

Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore.), Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass.) and Jeremy Powers (Hadley, Mass.) all earned automatic nominations to the team as the top three Americans in the UCI rankings.

Trebon (20th) and Powers (27th) will head to the Netherlands to contest the event. Johnson, ranked 22nd in the world, has declined his nomination and will not compete.

In addition to the automatic selections, USA Cycling also approved two discretionary picks to the squad – Brian Matter (Sheboygan, Wis.) and Matt Shriver (Salt Lake City, Utah). Both athletes were selected based on promising performances in international events this season.

Read “more” for full roster of men, women, U23 and junior team rosters…

The four men will join previously announced team members in Hoogerheide. Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo.), Rachel Lloyd (Fairfax, Calif.), Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa.), and Sue Butler (Portland, Ore.) will represent the U.S. in the elite women’s division. Nick Weighall (Millcreek, Mich.), Nicholas Keough (Sandwich, Mass.), Daniel Summerhill (Englewood, Colo.), Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.) and Will Dugan (Burlington, Vt.) comprise the U23 men’s contingent. The junior men’s team will consist of Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass.), Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash.), Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.), Eric Emsky (Fall City, Wash.) and Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan.).

2009 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships
Hoogerheide, Netherlands
January 31-February 1
U.S. Team:

Elite Men
Ryan Trebon (Bend, Ore.)
*Tim Johnson (Middleton, Mass.)
Jeremy Powers (Hadley, Mass.)
Brian Matter (Sheboygan, Wis.)
Matt Shriver (Salt Lake City, Utah)

*declined invitation – will not compete

Elite Women
Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo.)
Rachel Lloyd (Fairfax, Calif.)
Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa.)
Sue Butler (Portland, Ore.)

U23 Men
Nick Weighall (Millcreek, Wash.)
Nicholas Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Daniel Summerhill (Englewood, Colo.)
Bjorn Selander (Hudson, Wis.)
Will Dugan (Burlington, Vt.)

Junior Men
Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass.)
Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash.)
Gavin Mannion (Dedham, Mass.)
Eric Emsky (Fall City, Wash.)
Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan.)

Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.

Subscribe Now

Sign up to receive BikeRumor content direct to your inbox.